• Blog Stats

    • 20,598 hits
  • Blog Categories

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

Shop air filtrations device

It may not be pretty, but here is my air filtration device I built. This is basically a box with a furnace blower inside of it with furnace filters on the opposite side. This blows the dust away from me as I am working and the filters clean the air as it cycles througout the shop. I am very happy to have this addition to my shop!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is the furnace filter side; I've used two filters. I have a blue $.99 one as a pre filter to catch the larger particles and a better 3M filter after that to catch the smaller stuff. This isn't perfect as many professional models capture particles down to 5 micron, but his will improve my enviroment greatly.

2 Responses

  1. Great idea Jason! How well does it work? I need to do something to keep dust down in my shop. I was thinking of a dust collection system, but your setup would be much cheaper.
    Tony

    • Tony,
      I don’t have much experience around a store bought version, but I have been very happy with this. My wood lathe is in the direction of the air flow, so it blows a lot of the dust away as I make it. The other end filters the dust and I like the concept of clean air. I still use a dust mask when sanding a knife blade or wood turning projects, but this puts my mind at ease. I am nervous about the effects of the fine dust particles in my lungs adding up over time. I do know that the store bought version will filter down to a finer particulate than this, but I’ll take what I can get. I spent $40 or so on this as I had the wood and a freind gave me the blower. I think a dust collection system would still be very nice for the big stuff and then use this to capture the fine dust floating around. They make some good adapters for a shop vac if you are looking for a way to capture a lot of the large shavings and dust on the cheap.

      By the way, you make some really nice knives!

Leave a Reply

