• Blog Stats

    • 20,886 hits
  • Blog Categories

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

Ever wonder why log furniture costs so much?

I always thought log furniture seemed expensive. So, I set off to build some for the cabin. Now I know why it costs as much as it does. You don’t just go buy some two by material from Home Depot. I had to harvest the logs, get them home and peel them. Here is one pile of bark shavings. I don’t know how many hours I have into this so far and I don’t really want to know. Mind you, I’ve done all of this work just to get these to the drying stage…. I haven’t even built any furniture yet!

More bark shavings…

Here are about half the logs drying…

Here are the rest of the logs peeled. I don’t know how long they will need to dry, but I am guessing about a year. I doubt I will be patient enough to wait that long.

One Response

  1. This looks like quite the project you got yourself into…. Yikes!!!! What’s the goal project?

Leave a Reply

